Who We Are

Working to create thriving, mixed-income neighborhoods of choice that all are proud to call home.

Our History

Since 1975, NHS has recognized the impact of race, income and social status on a person’s housing security. We know homeownership has a foundational role to play in community development and closing the racial wealth gap. Our teams work to stabilize and revitalize low and moderate-income communities throughout the greater Chicagoland area and suburbs. We facilitate such revitalization by helping middle-class and working-class families purchase and maintain their own homes. NHS works to correct the inequities and end the exploitative practices that create housing insecurity. Well-maintained, owner-occupied homes have a range of economic, social, and psychological benefits for their residents and are critical components of stable and economically healthy neighborhoods.

Our Mission & Vision

To create opportunities for people to live in affordable homes, improve their lives, and strengthen their neighborhoods.

Our Team

Executive Staff

Anthony Simpkins

President and Chief Executive Officer

Donna Clarke

Chief Operating Officer

Robin Coffey

Chief Credit Officer

Karen Woods

Director, Strategic Initiatives and Public Grants and Contracts

Danielle Matthews

Director of Homeownership Services

Gordon Rice

Director of Lending Services

NLS Board of Directors


Thomas Fitzgibbon, Jr.


Manuel Jimenez

Vice President

Marquette Bank

Robert Tucker


Chicago Community Loan Fund

Board Members

Karen Thomas


Arthur Neville

Community Savings Bank

Bruce Martin

JP Morgan Chase

Faruk Daudbasic

First Eagle Bank

Metro Board

The Metro Board is comprised of emerging civic and business leaders who assist by raising funds and generating awareness of our programs and services.

Interested in joining the Metro Board? Please fill out our recruitment form or email vicepresident_metroboard@nhschicago.org for more information.

Fabiola Candlish

U.S. Bank

M’rald Calhoun

Chicago Public Schools

Jeremy Allen

Grenzebach Glier and Associates

Mercedes Pickett

Earth’s Remedies

Danielle Stanley

Partnership for College Completion Government Affairs Manager

Annette Vega


Falon Young

NHS Chicago

Erica Frazier

Fifth Third Bank

Alonzo Rushing

American Family Insurance

Aaron Hickman

City of Chicago

Karl Riley II


Fifth Third Bank

Gillespie Taylor


Stanley Washington


Rashanah Baldwin


Baldwin Media Group

NHS Board of Directors

Bruce Martin (Chairperson)

Sr. Vice President, Community Development Group

JP Morgan Chase Bank

Allison Clark

Associate Director, Impact Investments

MacArthur Foundation

Brooke Cullen

SVP, and Concurrence Officer, Commercial Real Estate

Wintrust Financial

Tony Hernandez

Managing Director, Head of Community Investment


Angela Hurlock

Executive Director

Claretian Associates, Inc.

Abraham Lacy

President & CEO

Far South Community Development Corporation

Cynthia Love

Community Representative

Jerry Lumpkins

First Vice President - Chicago Commercial Real Estate Lead

Valley National Bank

Rohit Masthipur

Head - Analytics, AI & ML (ISV)

Amazon Web Services

Robert V. McGhee

Senior Vice President - Market Manager, Community & Economic Development

Fifth Third

Matthew Roth

Community Development Finance

Independent Consultant

William W. Towns

National Market President - Community Revitalization and Public Housing

Gorman and Company

NHS Trustee Board

The Trustee Committee consists of recognized leaders who are knowledgeable and involved in economic, community development, and housing issues within their respective industry and geography. These leaders help access resources and mobilize support for both NHS and the community development movement.


Mark Hoppe (Honorary Co-Chair)

President & CEO

Fifth Third Bank

Charles Evans (Honorary Co-Chair)

President & CEO

Federal Reserve Bank of Chicago


Edward Wehmer

CEO & Founder

Wintrust Financial Corporation

Chris Sweetland

President & CEO, Chicago Region

Huntington Bank

Scott Swanson

Regional President, Illinois


Robert Sullivan

(Retired) Chairman

Fifth Third Bank

Peter Stickler

President & CEO

Inland Bank

Eric Smith

Vice Chair

BMO Harris Bank

Andrew Salk

President & CEO

First Eagle

Larry Richman

Chair, U.S. Region


Alberto Paracchini

President & CEO

Byline Bank

Steve ‘Mac’ MacLellan

President, Central Region — Wealth Management Business

The Northern Trust Company

Gary S. Collins

Vice Chairman

Old Second Bancorp

Paul T. Lambert

Chicago Market President

Bank of America

Philip B. Flynn

President & CEO

Associated Bank

Marsha Cruzan

Chicago Market President & Regional Market President

U.S. Bank

Dane H. Cleven

President & Chairman

Community Savings Bank

NHS Redevelopment Corporation Board


Paul Vlamis


JP Morgan Chase

Christine Kolb


Greystar Development/Construction

Adrienne Whitney

Vice President

West Humboldt Park Family and Community Development Council

Kristine Jurmu


Illinois Housing Development Authority

Board Members

Matt Williams

JP Real Estate Partners

Daniel Siadak

Old Second National Bank

Allison Porter-Bell

BMO Harris Bank

Molly Ekerdt

Preservation of Affordable Housing (POAH)

In The News

West Side Housing Fair

  Ready to take the next step in your homeownership journey? There’s no better place to start than our upcoming West Side Housing Fair! [Register for free here]   On […]

State Farm, NHS team up to make community impact

Five service projects, five neighborhoods, one outstanding partnership. For over 35 years, State Farm and NHS have worked together with residents to strengthen communities across the City of Chicago. However, this […]

Homeownership laid the groundwork for spurring Pullman’s revitalization (Crain’s Chicago)

Our President & CEO, Anthony E. Simpkins, pens an op-ed on what we can learn from Pullman’s success.

Media Inquiries

If you are a member of the media seeking information or requesting an interview, fill out and submit the inquiry form below. You may also use this form to request logos, photos, or video footage. In order to respond to your request in a timely manner, fill out all fields and include as many details as possible.

For urgent/time-sensitive requests, call NHS Communications Dept. at 773-329-4133.

MM slash DD slash YYYY

Central Office (Wicker Park)

(Half-block West of Ashland Avenue)

South Side Hub (Chatham)

(Inside Seaway Building – 87th Street and Langley Boulevard)

West Side Hub (West Humboldt Park)

(Corner of Chicago Avenue & Independence Boulevard)

Your generous support enables us to continue to make tremendous strides in advocating for working families while strengthening and stabilizing neighborhoods.